Des Moines Rideshare Accident Attorney
Uber & Lyft Accidents in Iowa
Although rideshare companies, like Uber and Lyft, have been dominating public transportation for years, they are still learning how to navigate issues like passenger safety and accident claims. Because of this, if you are injured in a rideshare accident, it is extremely important that you work with a knowledgeable attorney.
At LaMarca Law Group, P.C., our Des Moines rideshare accident attorneys have extensive experience helping victims of Uber and Lyft crashes seek fair financial recovery for their damages. With over a century of combined experience, our legal team understands the unique complexities involved in these types of cases—and we know how to fight back against insurance companies that seek to dispute, devalue, or deny injured victims’ rightful claims.
If you were injured in an Uber or Lyft accident in Iowa, contact LaMarca Law Group, P.C. online or by phone at (515) 705-0233 to request a free consultation. Hablamos español.
Can You Sue Uber or Lyft After an Accident?
Recent reports have shown that rideshare companies, including Uber and Lyft, may be contributing to the overall number of traffic accidents and fatalities on America’s roads. As reported by Forbes, multiple studies have found an overall increase in fatal traffic accidents by about 2 – 4% each year since rideshare vehicles began appearing in cities and municipalities throughout the country.
But what options do survivors of rideshare accidents have? If you were injured or if your loved one was killed due to the careless, reckless, or negligent actions of an Uber or Lyft driver, you may be able to bring a lawsuit against the rideshare company.
It is important to note, however, that rideshare companies typically classify their drivers as “independent contractors,” not employees. Because of this, these companies are often shielded from liability when their drivers cause accidents, injuries, and deaths. This can make suing Uber or Lyft extremely difficult, especially without the help of an experienced rideshare accident lawyer.
What Damages Are Available in Rideshare Accident Cases?
Like any other motorist on the road, rideshare drivers are required to have specific insurance coverage. Both Uber and Lyft offer different degrees of coverage depending on the circumstances of an accident, specifically, the “driving period” in which the crash occurs.
Uber and Lyft define the following driving periods:
- Period 0: The driver does not have the app turned on – no coverage
- Period 1: The driver has the app turned on but has not accepted a ride – no coverage
- Period 2: The driver has the app turned on and has accepted a ride but does not have the passenger in the vehicle yet – $50,000/$100,000 in bodily injury or death per person/accident and $25,000 in property damage per accident
- Period 3: The driver has the app turned on, has accepted a ride, and has a passenger in the vehicle - $1 million in total coverage per accident
So, for example, if you are injured as an Uber passenger, you are covered by the $1 million. If you are injured as the driver or passenger of another vehicle, coverage will depend on whether the rideshare driver had the app turned on, had accepted a ride, and/or had a passenger in the vehicle. Even if the rideshare driver is not actively driving for his or her respective rideshare company, you may still be able to recover compensation by filing a standard car accident claim with their private auto insurance provider.
How Our Firm Can Help
At LaMarca Law Group, P.C., we understand that you already have enough on your plate. Between making sure you get the right medical treatment and keeping up with your daily expenses while out of work, the last thing you need is the stress of dealing with the insurance company and filing a complex claim or lawsuit against the rideshare company.
Instead, let our Des Moines Uber and Lyft accident lawyers handle the details of your case. We understand the law, and we have a proven record of success in negotiating favorable settlements and obtaining just verdicts for our clients. Since 1988, we have been committed to helping injured Iowans fight for the justice they deserved and the recoveries they needed to get back on their feet. We provide every client with attentive, personalized service and dedicated advocacy from start to finish.
Your Time to File a Claim Is Limited
In Iowa, you typically only have two years from the date of the accident or injury to file a personal injury lawsuit. It’s important that you reach out to our attorneys as soon as possible so that we can begin building your case. Additionally, if you miss the statute of limitations, you will almost certainly be barred from bringing a claim, meaning you will not be able to recover compensation for your damages.
Our attorneys are ready to help you fight to recover maximum compensation for your medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, vehicle repairs, and other damages. We are available to take your call 24/7 and do not collect any attorneys’ fees unless/until we win your case.
Contact us online or call our firm today at (515) 705-0233 for a no-cost, no-obligation consultation.